# AMERICAN SOCIETY OF HEATING, REFRIGERATING, AND AIR CONDITIONING ENGINEERS, INC.

1791 Tullie Circle, NE / Atlanta, GA 30329 (404) 636-8400

# **TECHNICAL COMMITTEE 9.11 MEETING REPORT**

TECHNICAL 9.11 TC TITLE: <u>CLEAN SPACES</u>

**COMMITTEE** (TC):

DATE OF MEETING: January 20th, 2014 LOCATION: New York City

DATE RE-ISSUED: Draft (Rev. 0) RECORDED BY: Art Giesler

DATE RE-1550ED.	Diait (Rev. 0)		RECORDED D1.		Art Glesier
VOTING MEMBERS	YEAR		PRESENT	Sub-committee	
Charlie Shieh	On 07/10	<b>Off</b> 06/14	(Y/N) N	Chairs Handbook	Gary Shamshoian
Pete Gardner	07/10	06/15	Y	Research	Vinod P. Gupta
David Poetker	07/11	06/15	N	Programs	Peter B. Gardner
Wei Sun	07/11	06/15	Y	Web Page	Jo Jo Castro
Matt Middlebrooks	07/11	06/15	Y	Journal	Michael Amstadt
John Varley	07/11	06/15	Y	Design Guide	Wei Sun
Kishor Khankari	07/12	06/14	Y	Short Course	R. Vijayakumar
Paul Lemestre	07/12	06/14	Y	Energy Efficiency	Phil Naughton
Gordon Sharp	07/12	06/16	Y	Art Giesler	Vice-Chair
Ivan Thomas	07/12	06/16	Y		
Gary Shamshoian	07/12	06/17	Y		
Vinod Gupta	07/13	06/17	Y		
Michael Amsstadt	07/13	06/17	Y		
Gabriel Jimenez, (Non Quorum)	07/13	06/17	N		

# **Technical Committee 9.11: Clean Spaces**

CORRESPONDING MEMBERS (CM)	PRESENT (Y/N)	CORRESPONDING MEMBERS (CM)	PRESENT (Y/N)
Dennis Ligsay Alejandro		Chris Malanga	
M. Scott Alexander		Norm Maxwell	
Art Giesler	$\mathbf{Y}$	Roderick G McLeod	
Nejat Babur		Susan D Morrison	
Russell T Bailey	$\mathbf{Y}$	Mark A Mueller	
Kimberly A Barker		Christopher O Muller	
Cheryl Baylie		Gredory M Munter	
James R Beasley		Philip J Naughton	Y
David Bess		Eric Z Nejat	
Steve Blaine		Victor A Neuman	
Reg Brown		Sean O'Reilly	
Bernardo Cardenal		Taner F Ozkaynak	
John P Castelvecchi		Riyaz A Papar	
Dominador De Guzman Castro Jr.	Y	Sharad V Paranjape	
Robert E Chase		Zivojin B Perisic	
Allan D. Chasey		Kent W Peterson	
Kyung-Ju Choi		David Y.H. Pui	Y
Donald J Clarke		Mark A Renn	
James J Coogan		Christopher S Robertson	
Manuel A Del Valle		Julian Rochester	Y
Low Han Guan Den		Peter H Rumsey	Y
Charles E Dunn Jr.		Vincent A Sakraida	
David S Ensor		Emil Sandru	
Christopher Flaherty		Raymond K Schneider	
William H Frantz		Ted N Schnipper	
Daniel Albert Ghidoni		EC "Chuck" Schroeter	
		Anad K Seth	

CORRESPONDING MEMBERS (CM)	PRESENT (Y/N)	CORRESPONDING MEMBERS (CM)	PRESENT (Y/N)
Gabriel A Jimenez		Ronald E Hill	
Michael D Jue		Michael Shelton	
Yu-Hao Kang		Charles W Soltis	
Hemant S Kavathekar		Kevin A Sweeney	
Charles F Kern		William Tschudi	
Kevin D Knappmiller		George E Wells, III	
Elizabeth A Kolacki		Philip J Winters	
Thomas H Kuehn		Tengfang Tim Xu	
William A Kumpf		Thomas R Spearman	
D. Randall Lacey		Michael M Starke	
Matthew C Lemieux		Fu-Jen Wand	
Cesar Luis D L Lim		Richard B White	
Zhongping Lin		Alfred W Woody	
Junjie Liu		Mitchel Swann	$\mathbf{Y}$
Dawen Lu		Roland Charneux	$\mathbf{Y}$
Kenneth Mead	Y	Satish Dinakaran	
Davor Novosel	Y	Roger Lautz	
R. Vijayakumar	Y	Farhan Adil Mehboob	
Jack Zarour	Y	Jose F. Palma	$\mathbf{Y}$

# ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES

Jake Edmondston

Selina Yin

Tim Walsh

Ina Parker

Jonathan Kongoletos

Paolo Tronville

Dale Witham

# SOCIETY LIAISONS, ETC.

Thomas Lawrence TAC Section 9 Head N
Kishor Khankari Section 9 Research Liaison Y

## **Meeting Report:**

# ASHRAE Annual Meeting New York, Monday, January 20th, 2014

1. Chairman Kishor Khankari called the meeting to order at 2:17 PM. Ten out of thirteen voting members including the chair were present.

All voting members, corresponding members and guests were self introduced.

## 2. Minutes:

Wei Sun moved to accept Dallas annual meeting minutes as amended. Correction to Ken Mead name on page 7. secondeed by Paul Lemestre.

Motion passed (09/0/0 CNV)

# **Chair Report:** (Kishor Khankari)

- JoJo Castro now the webmaster.
- New TC subcommittee for Energy Efficiency. Phil Naughton (Chair), R. Vijayakumar and Kishor to start activities and recruit new members.
- RP 1399 Survey of Particles. Agreed on contractor. Recommendation sent to RAC and forwarded to Tech Council for further action.
- Membership 14 voting members. Three rolling off Kishor Khankari, Paul Lemestre and Charlie Shieh. Rolling on Art Giesler, Mitch Swan, Roland Charneux and Phil Naughton.
- Secretary Slot Committee will be forming a secretary slot in lieu of having the vid-chair taking minutes, etc.
- Web meetings available for sub-committee meetings. Contact Mike Vaughn; <a href="movaughn@ashrae.org">movaughn@ashrae.org</a>

# 4. <u>Membership:</u>

Membership is strong for TC-9.11.

- Rolling off as June 30, 2014
   Kishor Khankari
   Paul Lemestre
   Charlie Shieh
- Rolling on Art Giesler Mitch Swann Roland Charneux Phil Naughton

# 5. <u>Sub-committee reports:</u>

## 5.1 HANDBOOK – GARY SHAMSHOIAN

- Chapter update in progress. Two reviews have been completed. Due date of April 2014 and we are on targe.
- Already received some inputs that have been updated:

**Figures** 

More Consistency

Corrections

Color Figures

Improvement to chapter, not a full re-write

# 5.2 **JOURNAL – MICHAEL AMSTADT**

- Looking for articles on Energy Efficiency in Cleanrooms.
- Wei will prepare an article for the journal on Airlock and Pressurization
- Looking for reviewers

## 5.3 RESEARCH – VINOD GUPTA

- Dropping three RTAR's
- Need a champion for the other.
- Any possibilities of add-on or extension of current research or possible MIT project.

#### 5.4 WEB PAGE – JO JO CASTRO

- On line per ASHRAE design
- Send info early

# 5.5 PROGRAMS: P. GARDNER

- Paper or forums due Feb 15, 2014 per the schedule
- Looking at moving subcommittee prior to main meeting.

## 5.6 DESIGN GUIDE : WEI SUN

Going out for review and planning on a Letter ballot for approval .Some progress done

# 5.7 SHORT COURSE – R. VIJAYAKUMAR

Checking with ASHRAE on offering in schedule

# 5.8 ENERGY EFFICIENCY – PHIL NAUGHTON

- Planning on scope and literature review.
- 16 people involved
- 14 called-in to the kick-off meeting

# 6. <u>Liaison Report</u>

# 6.1 CDC/NIOSH – K. MEAD

Energy Control in nano-tech.

• Standard on nanoparticle in development in Europe

## 6.2 IEST – Wei Sun

- Conference in San-Antonio May 12-15
- Call for 2 speakers

# 7. Old business

None

# **Technical Committee 9.11: Clean Spaces**

# 8. <u>New business</u>

ASHRAE code of ethic to be considered during our meetings
M. JoJo Castro informed the committee of a conference on Building Energy Efficiency in Manilla

# Adjournment:

Meeting adjourned

Respectfully Submitted, Art Giesler